Hackney BMX 1 Hackney BMX 1 Hackney BMX 1

Winners Announced: British Cycling x Bikmo Club of the Year 2022


Hackney BMX Cycling Club have won this year’s Bikmo’s British Cycling Club of the Year 2022 competition and received a £1,000 prize!

Hackney BMX has been given the award due to their fantastic community of riders and volunteers, who go above and beyond to make BMX bikes fun and accessible for all. They have squeezed the most out of their pump track and club to support everyone. From nurturing riders to compete nationally, to getting their equipment in schools, pupil referral units and disability sessions.

The generous award will help secure the future of the club, enabling it to continue to grow and bring cycling to more and more people. The club intends to use the money on much needed maintenance of their bikes, as well as some free sessions at Hackney City Farm.

The funding of a British Cycling educational course, will additionally enable a club member to become a fully-qualified cycling coach. 

This is part of our continued support of grassroots cycling in the UK, and reflects the team’s passion for cycling of all disciplines. 

“We are proud to support grassroots cycling through this award, and are delighted to announce that Hackney BMX have won this year. The work that the club does to make BMX accessible to all is commendable, and this award is testament to the hard work of their community of riders and volunteers.

I know that everyone at Bikmo is looking forward to seeing the club continue to thrive.”

David George, CEO of Bikmo

Regional winners

On top of the overall winner, we have also announced winners for the regional club of the year, each receiving a bundle put together with British Cycling. 

Deeside Thistle Youth and Junior (DTCC) – Scotland
Glasgow Gals – Scotland*
Cheltenham and County Cycling Club – South
West suffolk wheelers – Eastern
GFTL – South East
Cheadle cycling club – North West
East Bradford Cycling Club – Yorkshire
Ingleby Cycle Coaching – North East
HFD Cycling – West Midlands
Cycle Stars – South West
Hemel Hempstead Cycling Club – Central
Spondon Cycling Club – East Midlands

*Two winners selected for Scotland region due to no entries from Welsh clubs.